Some Helpful Information Sites

Sometimes, just finding all the information that you need to help you make an informed decision can be daunting.  If you are very familiar with searching the internet, its a bit easier.  For some, who are not as internet-savvy, it can be discouraging if not downright frustrating.

So, to help your process in seeking out useful information on solar energy, I have put together a collection of links that should help.

This link will show you the state energy credits available from the Database of State Incentives for Renewables and Efficiency:  www.dsireusa.org

You can find out if your state and/or utility has any SRCC (Solar Rating and Certification Corporation) certification requirements for equipment you may be considering (OG100 and OG300):  www.solar-rating.org/SOLARFACTS/users.htm

Here’s a PDF file written by the U.S. Dept. of Energy, a consumer’s guide:  Small Wind Electric Systems.

Here are several reference tools that are provided on the Alternative Energy website.  I think you will find this site particularly helpful, I know I have.  I also like the fact that they offer everything from individual components to complete kits, as well as excellent support if you should need help installing your kits.

This is not meant to be an all-inclusive list of reference sites, obviously, but I have found these sites to be particularly helpful and useful in providing information on solar- and wind-powered systems.   One thing you will likely walk away with an understanding of why solar and wind powered systems work so well when run together.

Another observation many will make is that the southeastern U.S. is not considered to be very wind-friendly for supporting a wind-powered system.  That was something I found surprising, having lived in North Carolina for over 20 years, I find it quite windy here.  Of course, anyone living near the coast has to deal with the fact that most wind mills are not designed to handle hurricane force winds.  As a matter of fact, most are not able to handle tropical storm force winds.

And, I should explain that the natural gas powered generators category of products does not really fit in with the “green” and “organic” nature of the rest of this site, but it was a concession I made due to the fact that I live in hurricane alley.  Backup generators are very handy given the likelihood that at some point, if you live here for any length of time, you will experience a power outage.

Given the option between a gas powered generator, which are by far the more common of the two, I think that propane powered generators are cleaner to run and more economical.  I was particularly thrilled when I found the chart that shows you how much power you need to run common household appliances.  I have wondered about that for years!  I hope you find it as useful as I did.

Leave a comment